Fact Sheets

Islands at glance

There are a total of 118 islands and atolls that comprise The Islands of Tahiti, known officially as French Polynesia, each highlighting unique and breathtaking sceneries and experiences. The following information illustrates why The Islands of Tahiti are beyond the ordinary.

Legendary The Islands of Tahiti

More than a tropical island paradise, The Islands of Tahiti is a place for romance, legend and magic. Home to many archeological sites, showcasing the Maohi ancestors’ footprints, Tahiti has long been an inspirational place for many, including poets, painters, writers, whalers, traders, beachcombers, drifters, sailors, voyagers, and explorers.

A spa within a spa

The Islands of Tahiti are like one encompassing, natural spa. The crystal-clear lagoons are ‘thalasso-therapy-warm’ and the occasional tropical afternoon rains are naturally invigorating. With a range of hotel and cruise spa offerings to complement its natural outdoor spa experience, The Islands of Tahiti is the ultimate destination for relaxation and rejuvenation.

Quick facts

Find out everything you need to know about the islands. Only 8 hours away from Los Angeles, The Islands of Tahiti are in the same time zone as Hawaii.


The cuisine of The Islands of Tahiti is internationally renowned for its fresh fish and exotic fruits and vegetables, prepared with Polynesian influence and a touch of French flair. Find out more about traditional Tahitian dishes.

Scuba diving

With quiet lagoons, a warm climate, and steady trade winds, The Islands of Tahiti are continually ranked among the best in the world for diving. Most dives are organized around passes where divers encounter impressive large animals such black tip sharks, grey sharks, manta rays and can discover diverse schools of fish.

Tahitian Experiences

Discover The Islands of Tahiti‘s most memorable treasures, from signature overwater bungalows, to exquisite exotic cuisine, and of course beautiful lagoons.

The Islands of Tahiti’s hidden paradise

Often lost in the legendary shadow of Tahiti, Bora Bora and Moorea are the “Hidden Paradise” islands of Tahiti – Huahine, Raiatea, Taha’a, Maupiti, the Tuamotu Islands, the southern Austral Islands, and the Marquesas Islands. These islands have long been considered some of The Islands of Tahiti‘s “best kept secrets”.

The Tuamotu Islands – The Islands of Tahiti’s strand of pearls

The Tuamotu Atolls are located northeast of the Society Islands, and includes an array of stunning islands and atolls. In particular, the atolls of Rangiroa, Manihi, Tikehau and Fakarava offer a host of exciting activities, including world-class scuba diving, horseback riding, deep-sea fishing, as well as comfortable accommodation.


Already known worldwide as the ultimate honeymoon destination, The Islands of Tahiti offer the perfect setting for an unforgettable wedding.